can you tell I don’t know what I’m doing?

is what I said to the check-out lady at the library. I went in to borrow Siblings Without Rivalry because I’m at my wit’s end trying to figure out how to make our home look more like a family and less like an MMA match. When L goes around scratching Mister’s eyes out just for fun, I know I need help.

More than I thought, apparently, once I got to the stacks. Your Kids Are Your Own Fault. Parenting the Strong-Willed Child.  The Trouble With Boys. Spoiled Rotten: American Children and How To Change Them. 

So after a few frantic seconds I grabbed:

The Highly Sensitive Child (excellent read and fits Mister pefectly)
Positive Discipline A-Z (it had pretty, friendly colors)
Playful Parenting (the boys call me uptight: “mean”)
Raising Your Gifted Child ( because I don’t want to ruin him)

Don’t worry, she assured me. You have ’em for three weeks, and you can renew them up to three times online. Which is exactly what I plan to do.

Comment with any other book suggestions!

Bookmark can you tell I don't know what I'm doing?

3 Comments

Filed under family, me myself and I

3 responses to “can you tell I don’t know what I’m doing?

  1. alice

    Oh, I feel you girl… I don’t think any of us know what we’re doing. Only by God’s grace will the kids come out normal. 🙂

  2. howaboutcookie

    yeah, that’s pretty much what I’m banking on these days!

  3. Pingback: then and now « how about cookie

Leave a Reply

